I wrote that title and cringed. Who am I, my mom? Sure, I may plan on spending my Friday night making a fancy meal for one and writing (I blame NaNoWriMo – only two more days left!)…but hey, back off! I am a young youthful vibrant spirit who just enjoys a nice lasagna and is trying to finish strong in my novel writing attempt. I’m not apologizing for that.

Anyway, let’s end this over-analytic self-conscious rant. On to the point.

Today I got off work early (woo) and went on a run down along the river. Portland gets a lot of blame for being so rainy and depressing all the time (I’m looking at you, my Arizona pal), but I think it deserves credit for being absolutely gorgeous on all the days that the complainers are out of town.

Today, for example: the cherry trees are in bloom, the sky was blue, and the sun was shining, which made the Willamette look like a water haven perfect for frolicking in. There were so many people out, showing off their shoulder tattoos and pasty white legs of winter. Ah, it’s beautiful. In appropriate Portlandia fashion, I saw bikes (fixies, mountain, and the kind with the troughs to put unruly children in), wheelchairs, roller blades, scooters, and bike pedal-propelled go-carts. People were playing violins and guitars. It was an unofficial parade.

Here is what it looked like (note that this is not my photo – I am all about aerodynamics when I run = no phone/camera):

(via)

I have to say, we have some eccentricities here, and it may rain sometimes, but I am pretty sure that everyone out there this afternoon was unanimously thrilled to be in Portland.

Yeah, you go, Portland.

