I’ve been volunteering with the Children’s Book Bank every week or so, and it is absolutely awesome. My duties are sorting, cleaning, and distributing used kids’ books into packets to give to underprivileged preschoolers. Want to know a fact that will blow your mind and/or highlight why this is so important?

In upper middle income homes, there are 13 books per child. 

In lower income homes, there is 1 book per 300 children.

book stats

Literacy has huge implications for success in life; reading provides a foundation to efficient comprehension and expression of ideas. Crucial. I’m sorry, I meant to keep this rundown brief, but this is something I feel very strongly about. I had a great childhood with books, and I don’t think that socioeconomic status should be a limiting factor. Plus, there are so many books that kids are outgrowing and donating, so all that has to be done is connecting the book with the next kid. Ain’t no thang.

And, I’ll be honest. There’s a selfish aspect: it is so fun to look through kids’ books. Some of them (Miss Rumphius, Babar, Blueberries for Sal) satisfy my nostalgia craving. Some of them may be unfamiliar to me. But I keep being surprised at how many of them make me laugh out loud. I’ll share some of these pages with you as I come across them. Mostly, this is self-indulgent so that I can look back through them and laugh again. This one is from No No Yes Yes by Leslie Patricelli. Maybe I was tired, maybe I have a simple sense of humor, but I laughed at each illustration.

ahh! sorry about the glare!

This is absolutely an important lesson for every child, right? Personally, I like how happy the baby is in both the No and Yes situations. That baby really doesn’t care if it’s eating the banana or the dog food; the dog is the one who has the bad attitude.

